Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Amps, Cabs, Effects, Pickups, Onboard Preamps
Post Reply
User avatar
Aussie Mark
Posts: 16073
Joined: 28 Oct 2008, 21:06
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by Aussie Mark » 22 Dec 2008, 19:48

Current board ....

Image

Rolling Stoned | The Volts | Doors Alive | Bonza | The Vinyl Beats

Basses: Nash, Fender, Duesenberg, Greco, Ibanez
Rig: Fender Bassman 500 and Neo 410

Endorsing artist: Fender; Cave Passive Pedals

User avatar
mkat
Posts: 2830
Joined: 23 Oct 2008, 16:40
Location: /usr/bin
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by mkat » 23 Dec 2008, 09:32

All,

Don't mean to through a spanner in the works, some nice effects there, but don't you get a hell of a lot of noise with all those pedals?
Michael
http://mklutherie.com

int main(void) {return 0;} /* no bugs, lean, portable & scalable... */

User avatar
Aussie Mark
Posts: 16073
Joined: 28 Oct 2008, 21:06
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by Aussie Mark » 23 Dec 2008, 10:53

mkat wrote:All,

Don't mean to through a spanner in the works, some nice effects there, but don't you get a hell of a lot of noise with all those pedals?
Not me. The power supply I use for my board is custom made and is as quiet as a mouse, and my cables are George L's (expensive but great quality). I run my effects in two signal chains - the tuner, compressor and Sansamp go to the preamp input on my amp, and the others are in the amp's effects loop. The only pedal on my board that is remotely noisy is the Boss Flanger, but only at extreme settings.

Rolling Stoned | The Volts | Doors Alive | Bonza | The Vinyl Beats

Basses: Nash, Fender, Duesenberg, Greco, Ibanez
Rig: Fender Bassman 500 and Neo 410

Endorsing artist: Fender; Cave Passive Pedals

User avatar
mkat
Posts: 2830
Joined: 23 Oct 2008, 16:40
Location: /usr/bin
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by mkat » 23 Dec 2008, 20:38

Good stuff, much better than having a noise competition with a guitar player. Who made the supply?
Michael
http://mklutherie.com

int main(void) {return 0;} /* no bugs, lean, portable & scalable... */

User avatar
Aussie Mark
Posts: 16073
Joined: 28 Oct 2008, 21:06
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by Aussie Mark » 24 Dec 2008, 07:37

mkat wrote:Good stuff, much better than having a noise competition with a guitar player. Who made the supply?
RockDog in Kiama, south of Sydney ....

http://www.rockdog.com.au/products/pedal_boards.htm

Rolling Stoned | The Volts | Doors Alive | Bonza | The Vinyl Beats

Basses: Nash, Fender, Duesenberg, Greco, Ibanez
Rig: Fender Bassman 500 and Neo 410

Endorsing artist: Fender; Cave Passive Pedals

grumpy_dog666
Posts: 278
Joined: 16 Dec 2008, 21:09
Location: Melbourne

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by grumpy_dog666 » 25 Dec 2008, 22:21

My Bass Pedal Rig

BOSS TU-2 Chromatic Tuner --> BOSS ODB-3 Bass Overdrive --> Boss ME-50B

I also have a DOD FX-25B Envelope Filter, Boss CEB-3 and an Electro-Harmonix Pi Big Muff USA which i switch in an out depending on the situation.

I do like the Big Muff for a different fuzz distortion sound and the envelope filter is fantastic, but don't play much funky bass anymore. will do again......this filter is silky

Image

thenosebleedkid
Posts: 1033
Joined: 07 Nov 2008, 09:47
Location: Mildura

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by thenosebleedkid » 25 Dec 2008, 22:27

Image

Needs a few more pedals and some tidying up!

User avatar
stoneboy26
Posts: 3052
Joined: 30 Oct 2008, 22:24
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by stoneboy26 » 08 Jan 2009, 17:23

Having not really posted here before. Here is mine...Just finished putting it together in the last week or so.

Runs Homemade A/B -> Voodoo Labs Pedal Switcher - Hematoma in Loop 1, Crybaby in Loop 2 -> Voodoo Lab GCX Audio Switcher - Loop 1: Tuner output, Loop 2: EHX Small Clone, Loop 3: MXR Micro Amp, Loop 4: EBS Multidrive, Loop 5: EHX Q-Tron, Loop 6: Boss DD-3 -> Little Mark II. So I still have 2 spare loops in the rack and 2 on the floor!!! :help

Here's the pics....

Image

Image


Enjoy...I know I do!!!! :hyper: :hyper:
-Dan-
Sandberg Basses: VM5/VS4|Eden WT800|Eden D210XST x2|Mono Cases & Straps|Loads of FX


Music Page: http://www.facebook.com/danstonebass
Personal: http://www.facebook.com/destone

User avatar
PilbaraBass
Posts: 15086
Joined: 23 Oct 2008, 17:07
Location: Gladstone, QLD

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by PilbaraBass » 09 Jan 2009, 13:06

So let me get this straight...

the homemade A/B switches between the Voodoo Labs and the Ground Control...

The Voodoo labs then has 4 loops on it, connected as you described
The Ground Control has 6 loops on it, connected as you described.

The Voodoo labs is a 4 loop unit, so you have 2 to spare.
The Ground Control is an 8 loop unit, so you have 2 to spare here, as well.

Is this correct?
'98 Carvin AC40, '07 Squier JDAV, '91 P-bass, '96 Ibanez ATK300F, '15 Ibanez SR605
Kanye West wrote:My greatest pain in life is that I will never be able to see myself perform live.

User avatar
stoneboy26
Posts: 3052
Joined: 30 Oct 2008, 22:24
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by stoneboy26 » 09 Jan 2009, 16:37

I use the A/B to switch between basses. The Ground Control Pro is just the midi controller. Controls the pedal switcher and the GCX Audio switcher in the rack.

I tried using the input of the pedal switcher and the return of one of the loops and all I get is scary crazy noise when I select the loop which I am just using the return input - unless I run a pedal before it. Couldn't work it out and I had the a/b from a previous board incarnation. I was getting the same scary noise when I tried the same thing with the loops on the audio switcher in the rack. Voodoo Labs support aren't returning emails.

So the a/b runs into the input of the pedal switcher, which then runs in the GCX unit in the rack. If it wasn't for the wah or the hematoma having the 2nd footswitch, it would all be in the rack and i'd just have the ground control.

as it is, to setup I plug my bass in, plug power into the board and plug the midi cable from the rack and the cable between the pedal swticher and the rack and I am done.

Seems to be working pretty good so far.


and yes, 2 spare loops on both the pedal switcher and the audio switcher....but I am sure there will be more pedals to come!!! :)
-Dan-
Sandberg Basses: VM5/VS4|Eden WT800|Eden D210XST x2|Mono Cases & Straps|Loads of FX


Music Page: http://www.facebook.com/danstonebass
Personal: http://www.facebook.com/destone

User avatar
adge
Posts: 406
Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 15:50
Location: Sydney

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by adge » 03 Mar 2009, 23:14

here's mine... the signal chain does change from time to time. this week, ive moved the homemade distortion (top left) off the board, and the paradriver is set up in its spot as a distortion. im also looking at adding an xotic effects rc boost...

Image
Giving up music to take up drug dealing.

User avatar
ivyman
Posts: 68
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 21:10
Location: Sydney

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by ivyman » 07 Mar 2009, 15:55

at the moment ive only got these two and i dont think i need any more, thats not to say i dont want more
Image
Check out my blog for bass players!!!!
http://jacksbassblog.blogspot.com/

User avatar
adge
Posts: 406
Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 15:50
Location: Sydney

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by adge » 07 Mar 2009, 21:20

very good little setup there!! good to see you're using a good quality patch cable too!! did you make it or buy it?

ivyman wrote:at the moment ive only got these two and i dont think i need any more, thats not to say i dont want more
Image
Giving up music to take up drug dealing.

User avatar
anarchyok
Posts: 2253
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 11:47
Location: Officer, Victoria

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by anarchyok » 09 Mar 2009, 17:09

downsized and loving it :P

Image

Here is a shot with the blue neons showing a little...

Image
Warwick, Bergantino, Darkglass Electronics, Wren and Cuff.

User avatar
ivyman
Posts: 68
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 21:10
Location: Sydney

Re: Post your Effects setup! (boards, racks, doowhackeys)

Post by ivyman » 09 Mar 2009, 19:25

i bought the cable
Check out my blog for bass players!!!!
http://jacksbassblog.blogspot.com/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests