Mesh wifi setups - anyone using one at home?

Sit Back and Relax, Non-Bass Related Chat
Aussie Mark

Mesh wifi setups - anyone using one at home?

Post by Aussie Mark » 11 Dec 2017, 10:20

With the number of connected devices in the house increasing and the kids at the age where they need their own workspaces for homework, wifi coverage in our old full brick home is patchy in parts. I've been using a wifi extender for a couple of years now, which gives us a bit better range, but with the kids rooms being at the other end of the house we need to look at a better option. Plus, my wife who works from home wants to move her work area from the family room to a small room that is also at the other end of the house.

Being full brick and plaster, wiring the house for ethernet cable would be difficult and expensive, and a powerline system isn't effective either, since different parts of the house are on different wiring circuits.

So, I've been researching mesh wifi systems - eg. Google Wifi, Linksys Velop, Netgear Orbi etc.

I was leaning towards the Velop, which seems to be the best performing in terms of speed, but they're big and ugly compared to most of the other brands.

Wondering if any Ozbassers have gone down this road and can share their thoughts?

Rolling Stoned | The Volts | Doors Alive | Bonza | The Vinyl Beats

Basses: Nash, Fender, Cataldo, Duesenberg, Greco, Ibanez
Rig: Fender, Ampeg, PJB

Endorsing artist: Fender; Cave Passive Pedals

BazzBass

Re: Mesh wifi setups - anyone using one at home?

Post by BazzBass » 11 Dec 2017, 12:07

I have no technical qualifications in this area but my house is two story, double-brick as per the 70s. There is a 2 foot thick cement slab between floors.
I have my router upstairs close to the middle of the house. I get great reception everywhere so I'm wondering if you could install your router in the ceiling maybe you'll get wider coverage?

As I said, there is no scientific evidence, just an idea from what works for me.