TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Amps, Cabs, Effects, Pickups, Onboard Preamps
Post Reply
handyz
Posts: 227
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 18:31
Location: Sydney

TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by handyz » 20 Apr 2018, 20:25

hello guys,
i got a problem with my TC Electronics RH450 bass amp. It won't power up. This one has no fuse. Has anyone experience this? i've tried different power cable etc but still died. pls help... :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

User avatar
vin-tone
Posts: 4670
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 21:46
Location: Ballaarat Vic.
Contact:

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by vin-tone » 20 Apr 2018, 20:53

I've never cracked one of these but might be worth seeing if it does have a fuse inside. Sometimes the power board and power amp board will both have fuses (eg all ICEPower amps).

The AI amp I picked up recently had a fuse blown on the PA board. Been working fine ever since.
Warwick SS2, Fender 63AVRI, Eberhard Meinel Upright > Markbass & AI Coda

handyz
Posts: 227
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 18:31
Location: Sydney

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by handyz » 21 Apr 2018, 07:54

vin-tone wrote:
20 Apr 2018, 20:53
I've never cracked one of these but might be worth seeing if it does have a fuse inside. Sometimes the power board and power amp board will both have fuses (eg all ICEPower amps).

The AI amp I picked up recently had a fuse blown on the PA board. Been working fine ever since.
ok i'll try to hv a look inside. I just know it has no fuse from other basstalk, not inspect by my self..
cheers

User avatar
narcdor
Posts: 3764
Joined: 15 Apr 2011, 16:36
Location: Melbourne

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by narcdor » 21 Apr 2018, 09:07

Mine did this too, the main board was toast and would have cost almost as much as a new one to replace. Hope yours is an easier fix!

My tech had to buy a special screw driver to get in there as well.
Strings: Fender, Framus, Warwick, Custom
Knobs: Mesa, MarkBass, Fender
Patch: TC Electronic, Aguilar, too many to list

handyz
Posts: 227
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 18:31
Location: Sydney

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by handyz » 21 Apr 2018, 19:51

narcdor wrote:
21 Apr 2018, 09:07
Mine did this too, the main board was toast and would have cost almost as much as a new one to replace. Hope yours is an easier fix!

My tech had to buy a special screw driver to get in there as well.
where did u bring this to? local repairer or TC elect. reps? and how did he found the main board is burned? literarlly blackened like a burned fuse? thanks

User avatar
narcdor
Posts: 3764
Joined: 15 Apr 2011, 16:36
Location: Melbourne

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by narcdor » 21 Apr 2018, 21:08

handyz wrote:
21 Apr 2018, 19:51
narcdor wrote:
21 Apr 2018, 09:07
Mine did this too, the main board was toast and would have cost almost as much as a new one to replace. Hope yours is an easier fix!

My tech had to buy a special screw driver to get in there as well.
where did u bring this to? local repairer or TC elect. reps? and how did he found the main board is burned? literarlly blackened like a burned fuse? thanks
To the authorised repairer (or one of them) in Melbourne. It was an error code I think he said.
Strings: Fender, Framus, Warwick, Custom
Knobs: Mesa, MarkBass, Fender
Patch: TC Electronic, Aguilar, too many to list

User avatar
aphekgreg
Posts: 2324
Joined: 24 Nov 2009, 16:10
Location: Narara Central Coast
Contact:

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by aphekgreg » 22 Apr 2018, 08:24

I pulled mine apart, to replace a scratchy master volume pot. Possibly the most difficult thing I've ever opened - at least in recent years. They really don't want you servicing them yourself. Almost infinite number of acres in 3 or 4 different sizes. Pretty sure there was a fuse (fuses?) in there, as I recall thinking how stupid it was to have fuses, where only a tech can get to them.
Greg

Ibanez Musician, MusicMan, Dingwall Z3, Rickenbacker, MIJ Fender Precision & Jazz, Warmoth/Musikraft P/J-bass, Danelectro Longhorn.
Traynor YBA300, MarkBass, GK1001RB2, Berg AE212, Hartke 4.5, '64 Fender Bassman
http://www.aphekstudio.com.au

User avatar
Petebass
Posts: 8482
Joined: 31 Oct 2008, 07:07
Location: Hervey Bay, QLD

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by Petebass » 22 Apr 2018, 15:32

Fuses inside are a thing unfortunately. Many years ago I borrowed a Marshall bass head while my Labsystems amp was getting fixed. It wasn't great but it was getting me out of trouble .... Until one day it went "Bang". Not only was the internal fuse blown, the shrapnel also took out several nearby components. Bloody thing cost more to fix than my Labsystems head.
* 2 Stingray 5's (one heavily modded), Ibanez SR805, Ashbory, + more...
* Carvin B1500, Epifani PS1000, Ashdown Superfly amps.
* Lots of DIY neo/lightweight cabs including one made from composites http://www.ozbassforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2546

handyz
Posts: 227
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 18:31
Location: Sydney

Re: TC Electronics RH450 that won't power up

Post by handyz » 22 Apr 2018, 20:04

you guys are right.. its damn hard to open this thing !!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests