Mastering the fretboard - not!

Techniques, Instruction, Live Sound, Recording Equipment, GTG's etc...
ozrider

Mastering the fretboard - not!

Post by ozrider » 26 May 2018, 09:57

I have a confession. I haven't mastered the fretboard. I've been playing for over two decades now and its not for want of trying. I know where the notes are if I am going slow. But when I'm moving at pace in a song, I rely on scale patterns, typically being pentatonics, as I usually play pop/rock. I also don't worry much about improv over chord progressions as I almost always run fills around the turn-arounds and this usually sits around the key centre. That's my hack, I just can't hold chord ideas in my head, my brain does not process notes at the speed I need it to. I see patterns... not a single internet guru has been able to give me that pearl of wisdom that makes the notes work for me :banghead:

Surely there are guys/gals that see patterns and others that process notes easier... :peep:

BazzBass

Re: Mastering the fretboard - not!

Post by BazzBass » 26 May 2018, 12:08

you just have to learn the notes, or at least enough so that you can find the rest from there
Loud things: Markbass LittleMark 250, Hartke HA2500 amps, Hartke XL210 cabs
Pretty things: Fender MIA P, MIM P and J, SX J, Takamine ABG
Bands: Los Mescalitos , Distorted Tarts

ozrider

Post by ozrider » 26 May 2018, 12:27

BazzBass wrote:
26 May 2018, 12:08
you just have to learn the notes, or at least enough so that you can find the rest from there
I know the notes, but I default to patterns because it's easy to see them over the fretboard

BassLine

Post by BassLine » 26 May 2018, 13:05

It's an unconscious skill while playing. You're not supposed to regurgitate the note names for everything you play.

- Practise sight reading every day, that helped me more than anything.
- play everything you already know up (or down) an octave.

My favourite drill.....
1. play one specific note along the neck.