Custom Made Bass Electronics

Building, Modding, Setup and Repair
PapaBear

Custom Made Bass Electronics

Post by PapaBear » 30 Jun 2017, 13:42

Hi all,

I'm kind of new to this forum in that I don't post often, but also, I've been a lurker for a very long time.

I'm an electronics engineer by profession, and have been playing bass for about 20 years. I'm in the process of making my own custom electronics for a few of my basses and was wondering whether any of you guys are interested in the idea of custom made electronics (specifically an on-board active pre) for your own projects?

I'm currently working on a prototype - and obviously it will take some time to produce it. But looking at things like the Audere, John East, Bart etc etc I noticed that no one is really doing such a thing as an active preamp in Australia - so I'd thought I'd canvass the idea.

Would you try something made by a local? and if so ...

What features would you like to see in a preamp?

Any advice or feedback is welcome :)

Thanks for reading!

BazzBass

Re: Custom Made Bass Electronics

Post by BazzBass » 30 Jun 2017, 14:56

good initiative.

I tell you what I'd buy, a loaded Jazz bass control plate with decent pots :)

I know there's one on this forum but it needs a mod to the bass which I don't wanna do
Loud things: Markbass LittleMark 250, Hartke HA2500 amps, Hartke XL210 cabs
Pretty things: Fender MIA P, MIM P and J, SX J, Takamine ABG
Bands: Los Mescalitos , Distorted Tarts

cleary

Post by cleary » 30 Jun 2017, 15:01

Hey welcome :)

There's a few guys here doing custom built stuff, I know bassbass does custom preamp building.

As for feature requests, what about the ability to blend your active and passive signals?
GRay Bass Tuition :: Griffith NSW

slowlearner

Post by slowlearner » 30 Jun 2017, 15:10

I'm generally a passive electronics guy, but with our dollar in the toilet for the foreseeable future, anything local and good is pretty great. Love to see your ideas. :)