Introduce Yourself

Announcements, Introductions, Forum Support and Questions
Phil
Site Admin

Introduce Yourself

Post by Phil » 23 Oct 2008, 15:00

I'm Phil better known as Phil Mailloux in real life and on most forums I freqent. I'm originally from Montreal, Canada. If you hang out on TB you would have seen my posts mostly in the Luthier's Corner as I dn't post much elsewhere :)

I first came to Australia as a backpacker in '98 where I met my Dutch wife, after having followed her back to Holland and lived there a little while we decided to migrate here. A little less than 5 years later we finally succeeded and migrated here :partydance: I started playing guitar at 13 in the mid-eighties. I dropped the whole thing at 18 and at 25 decided to pickup the bass. I've been playing on and off since then. I"ve been a lifelong woodworker and trained as a cabinet maker and carpenter in secondary school. After many years of procrastinating I build a new from scratch body for an original '74 stratocaster neck back in '97. That was the start of my screwing around with instruments. In '03 I started building my first from scratch bass. I decided I was going to become a part-time pro luthier the day my second build made "Guitar of the Month" on Projectguitar.com :mrgreen: I was particularly proud of that since no bass had done that in over 18 months before that (and it must have been a slow month back then when you see what that bass looked like :shock: )

At this point in time, I'm finishing a full-time study in a few weeks and (hopefully) will start working in the engineering branch very soon. I finally registered "maillouxbasses.com" at the same time as this forum and hopefully will get a pro website up very soon.

Let's hear it from you guys! :hyper:

mkat

M

Post by mkat » 23 Oct 2008, 20:49